Site Overlay

9 more states sign and 4 more ratify the TPNW

Wednesday 26 September was International Day for the Total Elimination of Nuclear Weapons. It was a big day for the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW), with 6 new states signing the Treaty including Timor-Leste, Myanmar, Seychelles, Guinea Bissau, Brunei, Antigua and Barbuda and Benin. A further four ratified the Treaty too, making nuclear weapons now illegal in their countries. These states included, Vanuatu, San Marino, Samoa and Gambia.

The next day, Saint Lucia and Angola then joined them. This means that now the TPNW has 69 signatories and 19 States Party.

This is excellent news. Now, we just need to ensure the UK joins them. Get involved by coming along to our 2018 Autumn Seminar, ‘TPNW, the need for the UK to sign, how and why’.

Watch our partners ICAN’s video celebrating the amazing day below:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.